Anghiari: what to visit, attractions and sights to see
What to visit in Anghiari, attractions and sights to see in this ancient village in the province of Arezzo inserted in an enchanting landscape.
The village Anghiari Arezzo, in a landscape that offers beautiful panoramic views and in a borderland since Roman times, offers many historical and architectural ideas. Anghiari is a beautiful medieval village that is located about 30 km from Arezzo, in the upper valley of the Tiber, in Tuscany near the border with Umbria. The first time you see the name of Anghiari is on a parchment dating back to 1048, kept in Città di Castello.
When was the famous Battle of Anghiari, June 29, 1440, the village was already governed by the Florentines, who allied with the Pope managed to defeat the Milanese army of Filippo Maria Visconti and assert their dominance in Tuscany. The battle, mentioned by Machiavelli in his writings, is famous mainly because it was represented by Leonardo Da Vinci in a fresco in the Salone dei Cinquecento in Palazzo Vecchio in Florence.
Unfortunately, revealing the technique unsuitable, the work was not completed in 1557 and was covered with frescoes by Vasari. Anghiari is a place dear to St. Francis, returning from Verna who used to stay in the nearby castle belonging to the Counts of Montauto Barbolani his friends. Even during the last trip from Verna to Assisi, St. Francis made a stop at the castle where he gave his dress to the Count Alberto.
It is a gray wool tunic that St. Francis was wearing when on Mount La Verna received the stigmata. The habit, initially held in custody by the Counts Barbolani, was transferred to the monastery of Monte alle Croci and after in the Church of All Saints in Florence, is now preserved at the Convent of La Verna. The other place is linked to St. Francis Church of the Cross in Anghiari, built where tradition has it that the saint has placed a cross and blessed the valley below.
Monuments of Anghiari to see
The origin of the town of Anghiari dates from the eleventh century when the monks Camaldolesi helped with the construction of a new monastery, the development of the place. The imposing building of the monastery dedicated to St. Bartholomew, transformed by Perugia in defensive building, and the clock tower, called the Campano, constitute the elements of the emerging fortified by walls almost intact built between the eleventh and thirteenth centuries, distinguishable from the apse of the Church of St. Augustine and the Vicar’s Bastion, built in 1553 to strengthen the walls.
It dates back to the eleventh century, the Church of the Abbey, the first place of worship in the country. At the center of the village is the Praetorian Palace, whose facade is decorated with coats of terracotta and stone belonged to the Podestà and the Vicars of Anghiari, Palazzo Taglieschi, belonged to the family of Anghiari Taglieschi, is an example of private architecture fifteenth to Residential houses the State Museum, the Palazzo del Marzocco, home of the Documentation Centre of the Battle of Anghiari, the Ricomposti Theatre, built in 1789.
The church of Santa Maria delle Grazie, built in the eighteenth century also called the Church of the Ditch, and the church of Sant’Agostino, built in the middle of the fifteenth century on a church of the thirteenth century, enrich the beautiful fortified village, animated by many small craft shops and along the steep Ruga of San Martino, the road fourteenth century built by PieroTarlati said Saccone, cross-country and goes straight up to Sansepolcro. Every year, in November, at Anghiari is the festival of Bringoli and San Martino.