Bahrain travel: what to see in archipelago of the Persian Gulf

manama bahrain
manama bahrain

Useful information for holidays in Bahrain, where it is, neighboring states and islands, history and climatic characteristics, places of interest to visit and desert track for Formula 1 races.

Guide Bahrain

The Kingdom of Bahrain, Bahrain also said simply, is located in the Persian Gulf and consists of an archipelago of islands with capital Manama.

The borders with the neighboring nations which place them at sea and separate the territorial waters of this country from those of Saudi Arabia to the west and from the south of Qatar. The main island of Bahrain is Bahrain while among the other islands are those of Nasan, Hawar, Sitra, and Umm Al Muharraq and some uninhabited.

Wanting to make a little history of the archipelago of Bahrain can be said that since ancient times it has always been an important route for trade and over the years has undergone various occupations including that of the Portuguese at the turn of 1500 and 1600 , one of the Persians in 1700 and finally the British until 1971 when it became an independent kingdom. The economy of Bahrain is mainly based on oil.

The climate is characterized by having summers with very high temperatures, extreme temperature changes throughout the year and very few rainy phenomena.

What to see in Bahrain

This place has recently become world famous for the Formula 1 Grand Prix held annually since 2004 on a circuit built in the desert near the capital Manama, and that was the first F1 car race held in the Middle East.

Among the problems of this circuit must be reported, in particular, the temperature of the asphalt that, due to the very hot climate, reaches extremely high temperature, often above 40 degrees centigrade. Also, just blowing a bit ‘of wind, a thin layer of desert sand tends to deposit on the runway. Manama, as well as the capital, is also the largest city in the state, located on the Persian Gulf, geographically located in the north east of the island of Bahrain.