Italy holidays travel through beautiful country, travel guide

Italy, tourist guide, things to know to visit the regions of the Italian peninsula and all its islands, climate and highways.

Italy in brief

  • Capital: Rome
  • Surface area in sq km: 301 338 sq km
  • Population: 59,448,163 (first half 2007)
  • Religion: Catholic majority

Where is Italy

Italy has a territory that, starting from the south side of the Alps, it juts out into the Mediterranean Sea as a peninsula shaped like that of a boot. The Italian territory also includes some islands such as Sardinia and Sicily which are the two major islands. The seas around Italy are the Adriatic Sea in the east, the Ionian Sea to the southeast, the Tyrrhenian Sea to the west, the Ligurian Sea to the northwest.

The mountain ranges extend over most of the territory with more peaks located in the Western Alps, where there are mountains above 4000 m above sea level, including the Monte Rosa of 4634 meters, the Matterhorn of 4478 meters and Mont Blanc of 4810 meters which is the highest mountain in Europe.

The Po Valley, a large expanse of alluvial formed by the Po River and its tributaries, is located south of the Alps and the chain of the Apennines extends the entire length of the boot from Liguria to Sicily. There are also some volcanoes such as Mount Vesuvius near Pompeii near Naples, Etna near Catania, exceeding 3000 meters, is the highest volcano in Europe ‘s, and Stromboli located in the homonymous island.

Regions Italy

Italy is made up of 20 regions, including 5 with special status. The regions ordinary statute regions have forms and conditions dictated by the Italian Constitution and the statute is approved by the regional council. The regions with special status have instead defined forms and particular conditions of autonomy. The twenty regions that make up the Italian state are Valle d ‘Aosta, Piedmont, Liguria, Lombardy, Veneto, Trentino Alto Adige, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Emilia Romagna, Tuscany, Marche, Umbria, Lazio, Abruzzo, Sardinia, Molise, Campania, Puglia , Basilicata, Calabria and Sicily.

Northern Italy

Northern Italy includes the regions between the northern Apennines and the southern Alps. The regions that are part of this region of Italy are Piedmont, Valle d’Aosta, Liguria, Lombardy, Trentino-Alto Adige, Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Emilia-Romagna and are home to almost half of the Italian population.

Central Italy

The territory belonging to Central Italy includes the regions of Tuscany, Umbria, Marche and Lazio.

Southern Italy

From the point of view strictly geographical, southern Italy includes the southern part of the Italian peninsula with the exception of Sicily and Sardinia as islands that belong to Italy island. Belong to Southern Italy regions Abruzzo, Molise, Campania, Puglia, Basilicata and Calabria. Speaking of Southern Italy means instead the geographic area comprising over also to Southern Italy, Sicily and Sardinia.

Hydrography Italy

As a consequence of the great number of mountains the Italian territory is also crossed by many rivers of which the greater is the Po along more than 650 kilometers. The Po is the river that runs through the Po valley created by debris swept downstream by this great river and its tributaries.

Climate Italy

Largely surrounded by seas that make up the Mediterranean, Italy has a temperate climate that can be further divided into subtypes:

– Climate temperate subtropical characteristic of the coastal areas of Sicily, southern Sardinia and Calabria Central and South.
– Climate warm temperate present in most of Sardinia, Sicily, Calabria and Puglia.
– Climate temperate sublittoral typical of the coastal strip of the Marches, the hills of Tuscany, of Umbria, Lazio, Molise, Campania, Basilicata, Sardinia and Sicily.
– Climate temperate subcontinental widespread in much of the Venetian Plain, in the mountainous areas of Sardinia and Sicily and in the hills located in central and southern Italy.
– Temperate continental climate of the Po Valley and western Venetian Plain.
– Climate cool temperate in the foothills of the Alps and in most of the Apennines.
– Cool temperate climate typical of the major peaks in the Apennines.
– Climate cold altitude characteristic in ‘Alps above 2,000 meters above sea level and affected by rigid night temperatures and winter and abundant rainfall.
– Climate snow of the highest peaks in the Alps placed and covered with perpetual snow above 3,500 meters.

Tourism Italy

For economic tourism in Italy can seize upon the many offers of travel with Italy having the formula last minute to destinations many picturesque locations of the beautiful country.

Art, nature and landscape in Italy

Tourism is among the most interesting in Italy, thanks to the significant artistic treasures found in many Italian cities, which hand down great memories historical and archaeological. In addition to the cultural heritage, not least is to nature and landscape, which includes areas that are suitable for both holidays by the sea or in the mountains, as well as locations in large vocation farm.

Italian motorway network

Some of the highway sections that make up the network of motorways Italian are:

– A1 Autostrada del Sole (Milan – Naples)
– A3 (Naples – Reggio Calabria)
– A4 Motorway Serenissima (Turin – Trieste)
– A5 Autostrada della Valle d’Aosta (Torino – Aosta – Monte Bianco)
– The Verdemare A6 (Torino – Savona)
– A7 Autostrada dei Fiori (Milan – Genoa)
– A8 Autostrada dei Laghi (Milan – Varese)
– A9 Autostrada dei Laghi (Lainate – Como – Chiasso)
– A10 Autostrada dei Fiori (Genova – Ventimiglia)
– A11 Florence (Firenze – Pisa Nord)
– A12 Autostrada Azzurra (Genova – Rosignano / Civitavecchia – Rome)
– A13 (Padova – Bologna)
– A14 Adriatica motorway (Bologna – Taranto)
– A15 Autostrada della Cisa (Parma – La Spezia)
– A16 Autostrada dei Due Mari (Napoli – Canosa)
– A18 (Messina – Catania / Syracuse – Cassibile)
– A19 (Palermo – Catania)
– A20 (Messina – Palermo)
– A21 Autostrada dei Vini (Torino – Piacenza – Brescia)
– A22 Brenner motorway (Brenner – Modena)
– A23 Autostrada Alpe-Adria (Palmanova – Tarvisio)
– A24 Road Parks (Rome – L’Aquila – Teramo)
– A25 Road Parks (Torano – Pescara)
– A26 Motorway Tunnels (Voltri – Gravellona Toce)
– A27 Motorway Alemagna (Mestre – Belluno)
– A28 (Conegliano – Portogruaro)
– A29 Autostrada del Sale (Palermo – Mazara del Vallo)
– A30 (Caserta – Salerno)
– A31 Motorway Val d’Astico (Piovene Rocchette – Vicenza)
– A32 Autostrada del Frejus (Torino – Bardonecchia)
– A33 (Asti – Cuneo)