Our Lady of Pompeii: visit to the Shrine of the Rosary
History of the Shrine of Our Lady of Pompeii, where it is, what is dedicated what has become one of the most popular pilgrimage sites in Italy.
Shrine of Our Lady of Pompeii
In modern Pompeii is the Sanctuary dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, an important place of worship dedicated to the Holy Virgin of the Rosary. The modern city of Pompeii was built after the construction of the Sanctuary of Our Lady Pompeii, in a decadent time now. The November 13, 1875 he arrived in Pompeii the miraculous image of the Virgin of the Rosary and the foundation stone of the Sanctuary was laid on May 8, 1876.
The Sanctuary is linked to that of Blessed Bartolo Longo, founder and Countess Marianna De Fusco Farnararo, widow of Count Albenzio de Fusco. The Advocate Bartolo Longo arrived in these places to treat the properties of the Countess De Fusco, and as he crossed the country felt tormented by doubt that he could not save himself because of his past life unedifying, so the sound of the bells of noon felt a voice saying: “If you propagate the Rosary, you will be saved.” D
to then realized that his vocation was to spread the cult of the Virgin of the Rosary, and began his work founder dedicating themselves to the spiritual care of the farmers of the Valley, and to the spread of the recitation of the Rosary. This journey of life and faith was shared by the Countess De Fusco, who would become his wife in 1885, revealing a valid and valuable collaborator.
Meanwhile, it was restructured the small parish church of the Holy Saviour, and on the advice of the Bishop of Nola, was designed to build a new church, dedicated to Our Lady of the Rosary. It was necessary to also purchase a painting of Our Lady of the Rosary, in order to gather around and pray the Holy Rosary, so Bartolo Longo went to Naples, where he accidentally met his confessor Father Radente, who told him to go to the Academy Rosary Portamedina and ask, Sister Maria Concetta De Litala an old picture of the Rosary that he himself had entrusted years earlier.
Bartolo withdrew the picture despite the poor conditions of the canvas, and to deliver them to the Pompeii entrusted to carter Angelo Tortora who wrapped her in a sheet and placed it on a cart of manure. The painting was then restored and the veneration of the faithful place February 13, 1876, the same day it happened the first miracle through the intercession of Our Lady of Pompeii.
Following Bartolo Longo did perform a further restoration of the canvas to the Neapolitan painter Federico Maldarelli, and asked him also to transform the original Santa Rosa in Santa Caterina da Siena, by removing the error of historical context, as was the Madonna who gave the Rosario in Santa Rosa.
Meanwhile, for the construction of the new church offers came from Naples and from all over the world, and around the construction site stood the first houses of the workers, followed by the telegraph, the railway station, a small hospital, and the geodynamic meteorological observatory. Thus was born the new Pompeii. The sanctuary was erected between 1876 and 1891 to a design by Professor Antonio Cua University of Naples, and to accommodate the many faithful was expanded between 1934 and 1939.
The enlargement project was entrusted to architect and priest Monsignor Spirito Maria Chiapetta. In 1901 the sanctuary was erected in the Pontifical Major Basilica by Pope Leo XIII. Today the shrine is among the most visited in Italy, a destination for many pilgrimages, especially on 8 May and the first Sunday in October, when reciting the prayer to Our Lady of Pompeii written by Blessed Bartolo Longo. At about 300 meters from the Sanctuary is the Museum Cottage House of Blessed Bartolo Longo.