New Siberia: an uninhabited archipelago covered by ice

new siberia islands map
new siberia islands map

Discover the New Siberia, a polar landscape composed of uninhabited islands surrounded by a sea of ice cream in a polar environment very suggestive.

New Siberian Islands

The term of the New Siberian Islands, an archipelago indicates uninhabited and covered with ice for most of the year, located in the arctic ocean off the coast Jakuta, between the Laptev Sea to the west and the East Siberian Sea to the east.

The largest island is to Kotel’nyj, which has an area of nearly 12,000 km2, followed by the islands of De Long and Ljakhovskij. Yakov Sannikov was who first explored in the early 1800.

Kotel’nyj, which is part of the autonomous republic of Sacha-Yakutia in Russia and covers a total area of ​​23,165 km square, consists of three areas represented by the island of Kotel’nyj, from the Earth and from the island of Bunge Faddeyevsky Peninsula.

On the island of Kotel’nyj are 130 rivers over 10 km in length including the greater the Balyktach with its 205 km. The climate of this island is of polar type with very cold winters and short summers with average temperatures of no more than 2 degrees Celsius in July.

Precipitation is mostly snow. New Siberia is the easternmost island of the archipelago of the same name and is one of the largest in the world. Has a planar and reaches a few tens of meters as the altitude above sea level, the vegetation is predominantly made up of the tundra.