Quebec: journey through the Canadian Shield and Appalachians

Holidays in Quebec, where it is, attractions to see, geography, nature of the province of Canada, one of the major tourism destinations in the nation.

Guide Quebec

Quebec is a province of Canada and occupies a vast territory in the eastern sector of the country. It borders with the United States to the south and with the Canadian provinces of Ontario to the south west of New Brunswick to the southeast and northeast of Newfoundland, faces west to James Bay, north-west to the Bay Hudson, north to Hudson Strait and Ungava Bay and southeast of the estuary and the Gulf of the St. Lawrence River.

The provincial capital is the city of Quebec, while the most populous city is Montreal. Québec is part of the region known as French Canada since it was a colony of France for more than two centuries (1534-1763) under the name of New France. The official language is French.

The territory of Quebec offers very beautiful natural environments, divided into 22 tourist regions, ranging from the Canadian Shield to the north and the Appalachian Mountains to the south.

An area dotted with lakes and crossed by many rivers, (the largest are the St. Lawrence and Ottawa), occupied by a fertile plain, stretches of forests, from the arctic tundra and subarctic taiga and the northern sector of the Appalachian system with Notre Dame Mountains and the Gaspé Peninsula (Mount Jacques Cartier, 1268 m).