Sacred mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy, path

What and how many are the sacred mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy, itinerary to visit the geographical area that includes them, between natural landscapes and artistic beauties scattered throughout the territory.

Guide of the Sacred Mountains

The Sacred Mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy were entered in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites. The Sacred Mountains of Piedmont are seven and precisamene Belmonte, Crea, Domodossola, Ghiffa, Oropa, Orta and Varallo. The Sacred Mountains of Lombardy are Ossuccio and Varese. It is religious monuments built between the sixteenth and seventeenth century, which stand out for their artistic beauty, history and nature.

Are chapels and churches that through the representation for images, by frescoes, statues and dipindi show various episodes and mysteries of sacred life and offer different paths of meditation and prayer, to live in a privileged natural environment, characterized by pleasant and relaxing landscapes. Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy were born in the late fifteenth century as places of prayer in place of pilgrimage in the Holy Land, became at that time not too sure.

Subsequently, in the period of the Counter-Reformation, the second half of the sixteenth century, the Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy became an effective means to keep alive the Catholic faith and to counter Protestantism as offered through images, a simple and pedagogical itinerary-religious accessible to all.

Places and pilgrimage routes

– The Sacro Monte di Belmonte is located above the town of Valperga, about 700 meters above sea level in the area of Canavese, near Turin. The complex includes a sanctuary and 13 chapels dedicated to the Passion of Christ that wind along a circular path surrounded by a forest of trees.

– The Sacred Mount of Crea is located on a hill in the Monferrato to about 450 meters above sea level, in the province of Alessandria. The complex consists of 23 chapels and 5 hermitages along the route leading to the Marian Shrine from where the along a forest path leading to the chapel of Paradise, located on top of the hill. The chapels, excluding the first two dedicated to St. Eusebius, are inspired by the mysteries of the Rosary.

– The Sacred Mount Calvary, whose devotional path develops from the town of Domodossola to the hill of Mattarella, consists of 15 chapels
dedicated to the Passion of Christ. Atop the hill is the Sanctuary of SS.Crucifix.

-The Sacred Mount of the Holy. Trinity of Ghiffa set on the shore of Lake Maggiore, at the foot of Mount Carciago in a beautiful panoramic position, surrounded by a protected area characterized by extensive areas of forest. The complex is formed by the church of the Sanctuary, in whose yard is located on the porch of the Cross, and three chapels dedicated to the Coronation of Mary, the Baptism of Jesus and Abraham.

-The Sacred Mount of Oropa is about. 1,200 meters above sea level, near Biella, and is formed by twelve chapels dedicated to the life of the Virgin Mary. Near the chapel is the large complex of the Sanctuary, considered the greatest place of worship Mariano in the Alps, consisting of the Old Basilica, the New Church, and a set of monumental buildings and cloisters.

-The Holy Mount of Orta is situated on a hill that rises in the center of the peninsula-Orta San Giulio, on the western shore of Lake Orta. E ‘consists of 20 chapels in various architectural styles, which blend harmoniously with the surrounding landscape. The chapels are all dedicated to St. Francis and lie along a spiral path that ends with the church of San Nicolao, a proto-Romanesque building reworked in the seventeenth century as a copy of the Lower Basilica of Assisi.

-The Sacro Monte of Varallo, located in Valsesia on a rocky outcrop above the town of Varallo to 600 m above sea level, is the Sacro Monte oldest and most artistically important in the Alps. And ‘formed by the Basilica dedicated to the Assumption and 45 chapels with frescoes and statues that represent scenes from the life of Jesus and Mary. The area where there is the monumental complex is part of the special nature reserve of the Sacro Monte of Varallo.

– The Sacro Monte di Ossuccio is located on the western shore of Lake Como, on a slope at 419 meters above sea level, behind the town omonina opposite the island Comacina. The complex consists of 14 chapels in the Baroque style and dedicated to the Mysteries of the Rosary, winds along a path that leads to the Sanctuary of the Madonna del Soccorso, depicting the fifteenth mystery. The place, characterized by meadows, woods and olive groves, offers a magnificent view of the lake and the surrounding landscape.

-The Sacro Monte di Varese winds along the slopes of Monte Velate to 883 m above sea level, above Varese, in a magnificent panoramic position. It consists of 14 chapels dedicated to the Mysteries of the Rosary, which along a cobbled avenue along approximately 2 km, leading to the Sanctuary of Santa Maria del Monte, where he represented the fifteenth mystery.

All Sacred Mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy are considered magnificent examples of architecture in perfect harmony with the surrounding landscape, the perfect meeting point for religious pilgrims and lovers of art history. For the Sacred Mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy were inspired by other models later religious landscape like scattered mostly of Catholic Europe.