Santa Maria di Stignano: Shrine Via Sacra of the Lombards
Useful to visit Santa Maria Stignano Shrine, description of the complex with nods to the historical events have occurred since the founding.
Guide Santa Maria di Stignano Shrine
The population of Stignano, belonging to the municipality of San Marco in Lamis province of Foggia Puglia region, is the Sanctuary of Santa Maria di Stignano, the first that pilgrims from the north met on the Via Sacra of the Lombards, located at the beginning of the Valley San Marco in Lamis.
The complex was founded in the sixteenth century, but since 1231 we have news regarding the cult of the Virgin Mary in this place, where there was a small chapel has become a pilgrimage site. The current structure includes the Sanctuary and the Convent was built between the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
It was a feudal lord of the area, Ettore Pappacoda, who in 1515 built the Church, then finished with the beautiful dome. In 1560 the sanctuary was entrusted to the Friars Minor who completed the church and the bell tower, allocating the complex to the novitiate of the Franciscan province of Sant’Angelo and welcoming place for study and prayer.
In 1862 began the decline of the Sanctuary, closed by the authorities because of banditry. It was reopened in 1864, but was closed again after a while because of laws suppressing religious orders. Since 1953 the monastery was donated by Franceso proprietaro Centola to the Friars Minor of Puglia and Molise.
There have been new restoration work, and today the Oasis Sanctuary Santa Maria di Stignano is a welcoming place for retreat, for moments of personal and community prayer, in the countryside, very interesting from the artistic point of view.