Shrine San Matteo in Gargano, San Marco in Lamis
San Matteo Church in Gargano is located about three kilometers from San Marco in Lamis, a town in the province of Foggia in Puglia.
History sanctuary San Matteo in Gargano
Today the Shrine of St. Matthew is one of the most popular destinations of the Gargano, set in a beautiful natural environment that enriches his great religious and cultural value.
The convent was founded by the Benedictines on the slopes of Monte Celano to accommodate the pilgrims from the late fifth century passing on the route of the Via Sacra Langobardorum, direct to the Grotto of the Archangel Michael in Monte Sant’Angelo.
As is clear from various medieval documents, the original name of the monastery was San Giovanni in Lamis, an important social reality and church from the beginning of the millennium.
His territory included among other current San Giovanni Rotondo and San Marco in Lamis, whose first settlements date back to the time spent by the Benedictine Monastery.
In 1311 the Benedictine monks were replaced by the Cistercians, who remained until 1578, when the monastery was entrusted to the Friars Minor of the Province of San’Angelo in Puglia, initiating the period Franciscan who, except for the brief of the suppression of religious orders of the nineteenth century, has come to our days with the current presence of the Franciscan Friars.
Meanwhile, since the middle of the sixteenth century in the Church of San Giovanni in Lamis was kept a relic, a molar tooth, which seems to have belonged all’aposto and evangelist St. Matthew, this prodigious relic fed a popular devotion deeply felt, so as to change the name of the monastery, from San Giovanni in Lamis to the Convent of San Matteo.