Tierra del Fuego: Cape Horn, Magellan Strait

tierra del fuego magellan strait
tierra del fuego magellan strait

Tierra del Fuego is an archipelago part of South America, it is situated near the southern end of this continent.

Extension Tierra del Fuego

The territory of these islands belongs in part to Argentina and partly to Chile, composed of various islands of which the largest is the Isla Grande. The north end is represented by the Punta Anegada in Chile, while the south to Cape San Pio in Argentina. The northern border is marked by the Strait of Magellan, while the west by the Pacific Ocean, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean and to the south by the Beagle Channel. Major Localia are Ushuaia and Porvenir.

Origin of name

Tierra del Fuego is a name given in the past by European sailors who passed off its coast noticed the fires lit by the natives to warm up from the cold weather.

Cape Horn

Cape Horn, located in the archipelago of Tierra del Fuego, is indicated by convention as the southernmost point compared to the south of the American continent where the climatic conditions are usually prohibitive and this is very difficult to transit with sailboats. Contrary to what happens to the Strait of Magellan, the wide waters of the Drake channel located south, offer the best room to maneuver.

Strait of Magellan

The Strait of Magellan is a navigable route of Chile and is a very important natural passage between the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic, although it is a sea route very difficult to go to the adverse conditions of climate and the narrow width of the passage.