United States: what are the 50 states that make up the US

List of states that form the United States of America, geographic location and territories including but not as employees, landscapes and mountain ranges present.

What are the 50 states

The United States of America, is a federal republic located in North America and consists of 50 states in total, two of which, Alaska and Hawaii are not neighbors. Forty-eight states occupy the central area of ​​the northern part of the American continent and bordering Canada, the Atlantic Ocean, the Gulf of Mexico, Mexico and the Pacific Ocean.

The border with Canada is partly marked by the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River, while the one with Mexico is outlined by the Rio Grande River. The state of Alaska is in the northwest tip of North America, while the Hawaiian Islands are located in the Pacific Ocean at more than 5,000 km from the coast of the United States to which they belong.

Other territories not included in the federation but are part of US possessions and dependencies are Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands and atolls of Midway and Wake.
With a territorial extension so vast it is easy to imagine how different are the landscapes and environmental conditions in the various areas that influisconi on flora and fauna.

In the United States there are two large mountain ranges comprising the Appalachian Mountains in the east and from the Rocky Mountains to the west separated by vast plains in the central area.

The states that make up the US are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan , Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. The largest cities are New York, Chicago, Los Angeles and San Francisco, and the capital is Washington.