Wurzburg what to visit: monuments to see, itinerary
What to see in Wurzburg, visit the monuments of this city of Bavaria in Germany.
City of Bavaria in Germany, Wurzburg constitutes a stage of the Romantic Road, the famous romantic road, situated in a picturesque location on the River Main in the hills rich in vineyards. The town, Episcopalian and university, he met the period of greatest splendor between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, when it was enriched with magnificent buildings in the Italian Baroque style.
From 742 Wurzburg was a bishopric, in 1168 was transformed into independent duchy governed by the bishop, the Emperor Frederick Barbarossa, that in 1156 there had celebrated his marriage to Beatrice of Burgundy. The city and the territory was annexed structured until 1806, when it was secularized by Napoleon, then, from 1806 to 1814, was ruled by Archduke Ferdinand I of Tuscany, then passed to the kingdom of Bavaria.
Monuments of Wurzburg
This beautiful palace was built between 1720 and 1744 as a residence for the bishops principles. In this wonderful achievement Baroque worked leading architects and artists, headed by the genius Balthasar Neumann. Significant the monumental staircase, a masterpiece of Neumann, and a large fresco by Tiepolo.
The old bridge dating from the twelfth was destroyed by a flood and rebuilt between 1473 and 1543, in the Baroque period was adorned with twelve statues of saints.
And ‘the city hall of Wurzburg, once the residence of the Prince Bishops. It was built in the thirteenth century, in this era retains the lower floor and the first floor,
while the second floor, in the Gothic style, it is 1453 and the other two floors are Renaissance.
The Cathedral of St. Kilian, Romanesque building dating back to the XI-XII century but rebuilt after World War II, has an interior with baroque stucco and numerous works of art.
And the church that is located to the left of the cathedral, its construction dates back to the thirteenth century. It was enlarged in the eighteenth century with a huge dome and is characterized, on the outside, to have a spectacular baroque facade. In the crypt west is the tomb of St. Killian, patron of Franconia.
Dominant stands this impressive fortress, on a fortified site since the Celtic where in 704 AD, was built the first church in Wurzburg.
The first fortification around the building of religious worship dates back to the thirteenth century, extensions and alterations were made several times during the period of the Renaissance and Baroque periods. This was the fortified seat of the prince bishops, until the construction of the residential building. Some buildings house the Museum of the ramparts Mainfrankisches, which preserves an interesting collection of art in Franconia.
Municipal art museum that contains two distinct art collections: the collection municipal and Peter C. Ruppert Collection of European art from World War II to the present. The municipal collection displays works of art of various regional types.